How to Format…the Format?

If an HTML formatting blog asks for advice regarding the formatting of the blog, will the universe explode?

The whole point of Yellow Buick Review is to help editors format their poetry E-books. I’ve been posting code samples here as plain preformatted text using the <pre> tag. It’s simple, clear, takes me all of five seconds in WordPress. Normally, I call out line numbers beforehand, if I think they’ll matter. Here are lines 167-172 of the Yellow Buick Review:

 <h3><a id="whatBarn"></a>What the Barn Owl Saw</h3>
 <h4>Nancy Kilroy</h4>
 <p class="PoemDedication">for Sally Samples, 1980-2011</p>
 <p class="PoemStanza">in fermentum leo ut urna</p>
 <p class="PoemLine">hendrerit commodo.</p>
 <p class="PoemLine">vestibulum posuere,</p>

However, I just learned about the WordPress shortcode to offer much richer code snippets on the blog. Sounds useful, right? For example, here again are lines 167-172 of the Yellow Buick Review:

<h3><a id="whatBarn"></a>What the Barn Owl Saw</h3>
<h4>Nancy Kilroy</h4>
<p class="PoemDedication">for Sally Samples, 1980-2011</p>
<p class="PoemStanza">in fermentum leo ut urna</p>
<p class="PoemLine">hendrerit commodo.</p>
<p class="PoemLine">vestibulum posuere,</p>

What do you think? It takes just a little longer on my end. Is it helpful to have the lines numbered and the syntax highlit? Or are the colors garishly distracting? Let me know.

2 Comments

Filed under Code Samples, Issues

2 responses to “How to Format…the Format?

  1. InstaScribe

    I prefer the shortcode version on blogs. I use them myself :)

    – Jaya

    • Hi Jaya!

      I’ve had all kinds of problems just getting them to post correctly. Turns out the pre tags fight with the code tags in the “visual” WordPress editor, but not in the “text” WordPress editor. Gah! Going forward, I’ll use the shortcode, but I think it’ll be a while before I get around to updating previous posts.

      Good to hear from you again.

Leave a Reply

